Toc H Oil Lamp & Engraved Stand
Toc H was established in 1915 in Poperinge, Belgium (or “pops” as the soldiers called it) for soldiers operating in the Ypres salient. Its founder was the Rev. PB (Tubby) Clayton, an army padre, who opened a centre, or rest house, to provide both material & spiritual comfort for troops away from the frontline.
He chose a house, temporarily vacated by its owner, to use as his base, paying rent of 150 francs a month. It opened on 11th December 1915 & he called it Talbot House after a senior Church of England chaplain in the British army.
Talbot House soon became known by its initials T H, and then, in the radio signallers’ parlance of the day as Toc H.
The symbol of Toc H was an oil lamp with the Cross of Lorraine & it became known as “The Lamp of Maintenance”, each branch of Toc H throughout the world had such a lamp & it was lit on various occasions including every year on Tubby Clayton’s birthday.
The Ashby De La Zouch branch Toc H lamp was 1st lit by HRH the Duke of Kent on 27th July 1936.
Viewing by appointment
Find Out More:
The former Ashby branch of the Toc H Movement & The National Memorial Arboretum, Alrewas, Staffs
Tell Us More!
We want to hear your comments about this object! Tell Us More!
Angie It looks like a genies lamp!
Explore other objects...
Page Last Updated: 13 May 2013