Skip to main content

County council announces four new honorary aldermen

Former councillors made honorary aldermen

Picture of County Hall

Four retired councillors have been made honorary aldermen by Leicestershire County Council, in honour of their ‘exceptional service’ to the authority.

Former Syston Fosse councillor Dave Houseman, former Bradgate councillor David Snartt, former Loughborough South West councillor Peter Lewis and former Bruntingthorpe councillor Graham Hart were all given the prestigious title yesterday (Wednesday, 28 June).

The title of honorary alderman was given to the four men, who have retired from active politics.

The non-political position was proposed and seconded by serving members of the county council.


I am delighted to make Dave, David, Peter and Graham honorary aldermen. They were all first rate councillors and extremely hard-working and I am grateful for all that they have done.

“They deserve this position due to the exceptional service they have given to the people across the county.


In their new positions the aldermen will be able to:

  • Attend as an observer at meetings of the council or any other meetings to which the press and public are admitted;
  • Attend major civic occasions in the county;
  • Wear the Badge of Office of Honorary Alderman on civic occasions;
  • On death, have the county flag flown at County Hall at half-mast; and
  • Enjoy the courtesy title of "Honorary Alderman" and to be addressed as such.
Top of page