Skip to main content

Event celebrates schools anti-bullying work

Schools across Leicestershire recognised for their commitment to tackling bullying at a special event

Leicestershire schools recognised for anti-bullying work

More than 20 schools across Leicestershire have been recognised for their commitment to tackling bullying at a special 'Beyond Bullying' event.

Held at the Morningside Arena in Leicester, awards were presented by Leicestershire County Council to schools from areas including Loughborough, Market Harborough and Hinckley in acknowledgement of the anti-bullying work done by the schools during the year. Teachers and pupils were also awarded certificates at the event. 

“The Beyond Bullying event was a fitting celebration to the hard work these schools have carried out throughout the academic year.

“The schools have been fully supported by our hardworking anti-bullying team to share and develop best practice. As an authority we are fully committed to continuing to work closely with schools to ensure they have the skills and approaches in place to tackling bullying.” 

As part of the event, award winning Birmingham performance poet Spoz read some of his poems and also involved the children in activities such as ‘word slams’ and fun poetry writing.

Since the Beyond Bullying Awards were launched seven years ago, more than 100 schools across the county have received the accreditation. 

Schools and colleges recognised at the event include:

  • Griffydam Primary School
  • Newtown Linford Primary School
  • Seagrave Village Primary School
  • Moira Primary School
  • St Joseph’s Catholic Voluntary Academy, Market Harborough
  • Barlestone C of E Primary School
  • Meadowdale Primary School, Market Harborough
  • St Mary’s Primary Catholic School, Loughborough
  • Broomfield Primary Academy, East Goscote
  • Greenfield Primary School, Countesthorpe
  • Thistly Meadow Primary School, Blaby
  • Martinshaw Primary School, Groby
  • South Kilworth Primary School
  • Bishop Ellis Primary School, Thurmaston
  • St Mary’s Primary Catholic School, Loughborough
  • Burbage Junior School
  • Welland Park Academy, Market Harborough
  • Thomas Estley Community College, Broughton Astley
  • South Wigston High School
  • Ratcliffe College, Ratcliffe-on-the-Wreake
  • Hinckley Academy and John Cleveland College


Top of page