Skip to main content

The Cabinet

The Cabinet is made up of 9 members, including the Leader of the Council

The Cabinet meets monthly and is responsible for the most important decisions affecting the council. It also makes recommendations to the council regarding the annual budget and major plans.

Browse minutes and agendas for Cabinet meetings

The Leader acts as the Chairman of the Cabinet and chooses up to nine other members.

Each Cabinet member is given specific roles or responsibilities:

Cabinet memberRole
Mr N. J. Rushton CC

Leader of the Council

Strategic and external relationships
Economic development
Housing growth and developer contributions
Regulatory services and resilience
Minerals and waste planning

Mr J. B. Rhodes CC

Deputy Leader of the Council

Finance and resources (staff, property, ICT)
Performance management
Transformation (Chairman of Board)

Mr I. Ould OBE CC

Designated lead member for children and young people (statutory)

  • Relations with schools
  • Children’s social care, safeguarding and children in care
  • Children’s Champion. Supporting Leicestershire’s Families (Chair of Children and Families Partnership)

Youth offending service
Community safety

Mr R. Blunt CCAdult social care         
Heritage, leisure and arts
Mr B. Pain CC

Environment and highways
Strategic transportation
Waste management
Passenger transport

Mr L. Breckon JP CC

Health and wellbeing, including sport
Chairman of the Health and Wellbeing Board
NHS Trust provider and commissioner relations
Mental health champion

Mrs L. Richardson CC

Community engagement
Chair of Leicestershire Rural Partnership
Shire grants
Green plaques

Mr R. Shepherd CC

Support to the Deputy Leader on his portfolio

Mr T J Pendleton CCSupport to the Leader on his portfolio
Top of page