Skip to main content

County roads to get surface dressing treatment

Million square metres of roads treated to help reduce chance of potholes

Road workers reading a map

More than a million square metres of roads across Leicestershire will be treated this summer to help reduce the chance of potholes.

Throughout the summer, Leicestershire County Council will carry out the preventative maintenance, known as surface dressing, so that motorists can have a smoother journey.

With more than 2,575 miles of road to maintain across the county, it’s important that spending is targeted. By tackling problems early, the need for reactive maintenance is reduced and more money is saved.


Our roads are the some of the best maintained in the country, and the success of this is partly down to our proactive approach to road maintenance.


Surface dressing provides the road with an additional protective layer, by sealing the surface with bitumen and stone chippings. The bitumen layer prevents water and air penetrating the tarmac underneath, while the stone chippings increase the texture of the road surface.

It is up to 10 times more cost effective than conventional resurfacing, and therefore helps create and sustain a resilient highway network. The work, which is completed annually, will be carried out in stages to reduce the impact on motorists.

Although the work is dependent on warm temperatures helping the chippings stick to the road – it is hoped that it will be completed by September.

Any areas that cannot be completed because of the weather will be added to next season’s programme. Residents and businesses will be notified prior to work commencing.

When and where the work is taking place:

Hinckley & Bosworth – Witherley, Sheepy, Shackerstone and Earl Shilton
North West Leicestershire - Lockington – Hemington, Castle Donington, Worthington, Coalville, Donington Le Heath, Ravenstone, Ellistown, Ashby Woulds and Hugglescote

Charnwood – Wymeswold, Loughborough and Woodhouse
Hinckley & Bosworth – Barwell, Hinckley, Burbage, Peckleton, Desford, Bagworth and Ratby
North West Leicestershire – Packington, Snarestone and Coalville
Melton – Grimston and Broughton and Old Dalby

Harborough – Billesdon, Frisby, Goadby, Tugby and Keythorpe, Blaston, Great Eastern, Bringhurst, Drayton, Market Harborough, Kibworth Beauchamp, Lubenham, Foxton, Saddington, Husbands Bosworth, South Kilworth, Swinford, Frolesworth, Leire, Ashby Parva, Claybrooke Mangna and Gilmorton
Hinckley & Bosworth – Newbold Verdon, Market Bosworth, Cadeby, Sutton Cheney and Higham on the Hill
Melton – Ab Kettleby, Redmile, Croxton Kerrial, Scalford, Sproxton, Wymondham, Gaddesby, Knossington and Cold Overton and Burton and Dalby

Blaby District – Kirby Muxloe, Glenfield, Enderby, Braunstone, Thurlaston, Croft, Sapcote, Blaby, Glen Parva, Countesthorpe and Cosby
Oadby & Wigston – Oadby and Wigston

Harborough – Leire, Great Glen, Burton Overy, Billesdon, East Norton and Market Harborough
Melton – Knossington and Cold Overton, Bottesford, Scalford, Clawson, Hose and Harby, Melton Mowbray and Grimston
Charnwood – Burton on the Wolds, Sileby, Mountsorrel, Birstall, Thurcaston, Loughborough and Shepshed



Top of page