New chapter for Ibstock’s community managed library

New operators of local library wanted

library books

The search is on to find volunteers to run the community library in Ibstock.

Leicestershire County Council wants to hear from people or groups interested in taking on the operation of the library with the hope to get a new organisation in place for the new year.

Ibstock Community Managed Library Group will no longer run the library after February 2024 and the county council is keen to recruit volunteers who want to keep the library operating into 2024 and beyond.

Councillor Christine Radford, cabinet member for libraries, said: “I’d like to thank the trustees and volunteers of Ibstock library for their sterling work in the last few years. They have done a fantastic job for the local community and created a valued learning space for all ages.

“We are lucky to have so many successful community-run libraries across the county, and I’m hopeful that we will find a new solution for Ibstock library.

“We’re open to new ways of operating the library and would urge people with creative ideas to come forward and register their interest.”

Information for people interested in running the Ibstock Community Managed Library is available on the council’s website.

A meeting for interested groups and individuals to find out more and how to register their interest is also planned in the next few weeks – keep checking the webpage and the libraries Facebook page for details.

Residents can also have their say on the future of library services in Ibstock, should a new organisation not come forward. The consultation can be completed by Wednesday 20 December.

Leicestershire Matters

Parents and carers have until January 15 2024 to make primary school applications for next year

The new site has nearly 30,000 trees

East Midlands Freeport has announced a major new development

Watch our meeting online

The finalists have been nominated by colleagues, family, friends, or people they support

Residents of Glen Parva and Blaby are invited to vote for a new county councillor and district councillor