Skip to main content

Who can get a Blue Badge

The intended badge holder must be a Leicestershire resident and meet certain criteria to qualify for a Blue Badge in order to apply via the Leicestershire County Council process.

If you are a Leicestershire resident applying on behalf of someone who does not live in Leicestershire, please start the application at the government Blue Badge website.


Badges are only issued where a condition/disability is permanent or likely to endure for more than three years. Temporary conditions e.g. a broken leg or recovering from an operation, do not qualify for a badge. Also, conditions where the effect of a disability is intermittent in nature are not usually eligible for a Blue Badge.

Residents of Leicester city should apply to Leicester City Council.

Leicestershire County Council is responsible for administering and enforcing the Blue Badge Scheme for Leicestershire residents, but the qualification criteria are set by central government; there are no discretionary criteria, either locally or nationally.

Whilst the Council would encourage people to apply for a Blue Badge if they genuinely believe they are eligible, under no circumstances should anyone attempt to apply for a badge fraudulently nor will the Council issue a badge to anyone it does not assess as eligible under one or more of the exact qualifying criteria.

Not all disabilities or conditions result in eligibility for a Blue Badge. Disabilities and health conditions can be very varied and the day to day impact can range from mild to very severe, occasional to constant, and therefore a diagnosis of a particular condition on its own may not be sufficient to confirm eligibility for a Blue Badge - we may require further information as to how much and how often a condition affects your ability to undertake a journey. 

The Blue Badge eligibility criteria was extended on 30 August 2019 to include the impact of certain non-visible (‘hidden’) disabilities and conditions. 

Revised Blue Badge qualification criteria

Type 1: Eligible without further assessment

People who may be issued with a badge without further assessment are those who are more than two years old and fall within one or more of the following descriptions: 

  • Receives the Higher Rate of the Mobility Component of the Disability Living Allowance (HRMCDLA)
  • Receives the mobility component of Personal Independence Payment (PIP) and has obtained 10 points specifically with the descriptor that “You cannot undertake any journey because it would cause you overwhelming psychological distress” in the “planning and following journeys” activity. (Please note that no other points or descriptor result in automatic eligibility. Please see the FAQ relating to having 12 points for this activity, below, for details.)
  • Receives the mobility component of Personal Independence Payment (PIP) and has obtained 8 points or more under the “moving around” activity 
  • Is registered blind (severely sight impaired)
  • Receives a War Pensioner's Mobility Supplement (WPMS)
  • Has been both awarded a lump sum benefit at tariffs 1-8 of the Armed Forces Compensation Scheme and certified as having an enduring and substantial disability which causes inability to walk or very considerable difficulty in walking.

Type 2: Eligible subject to further assessment

People who may be issued with a badge after further assessment are those who are more than two years old and may be described as one or more of the following:

  • A person who drives a vehicle regularly, has a severe disability in both arms and is unable to operate, or has considerable difficulty in operating, all or some types of parking meter; or
  • A person who has been certified by an expert assessor as having an enduring and substantial disability which causes them, during the course of a journey*, to:
    • Be unable to walk (that is, to put “one foot in front of the other”);
    • Experience very considerable difficulty whilst walking, which may include very considerable psychological distress; or
    • Be at risk of serious harm when walking, or pose, when walking, a risk of serious harm to any other person.

*A journey refers to moving between a vehicle and your destination, e.g. from the car to the shop.

In addition, children under the age of three may be eligible for a badge if they fall within either or both of the following descriptions:

  • A child who, due to a condition, must always be accompanied by bulky medical equipment which cannot be carried around with the child without great difficulty
  • A child who, due to a condition, must always be kept near to a motor vehicle so that treatment for that condition can be given in the vehicle if necessary, or the child can be taken quickly in the vehicle to a place where such treatment can be given.

We may ask you to attend an independent assessment if we can't decide from your application form whether you are eligible. It's free and carried out by a qualified professional.

Non-visible conditions (hidden disabilities)

You may be eligible if your condition results in a severe struggle with journeys between a vehicle and your destination. This may include people who:

  • are a constant significant risk to themselves or others near vehicles, in traffic or car parks, or
  • regularly find it difficult or impossible to control their actions and lack awareness of the impact they could have on others, or
  • regularly have intense and overwhelming responses to situations, causing temporary loss of behavioural control, or
  • frequently become extremely anxious or fearful of public or open spaces.

Due to the nature of non-visible (hidden) conditions, we will assess your application by looking at your needs and you will be expected to provide evidence, such as a diagnosis letter, medical reports, appointment letters, prescriptions or a care plan.

FAQs about the new blue badge eligibility